State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Alabama

State Contact Information

Address

Uvonkia Armour

Phone: 334 242-9312

Email: Uvonkia.Armour@dhr.alabama.gov
Fax: 334 -242-0606

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

The employer has 14 days to answer whether or not they will be able to withhold.
Withholding commences on the first pay period following the 14-day answer
period.

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Once money is withheld, it must be remitted within 7 working days.

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, medical support, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Amounts allowed by the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 USC Section
1673(b))

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

AL has no additional withholding limits other than those prescribed by federal law

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per month

Legislative cite

Code of Ala.§830-3-61, 30-3-66, 30-3-67, 30-3-71, 38-10-8

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Alaska

State Contact Information

Address

Cara Booher, Enforcement Manager
Phone: 907 269-6838
Cara.booher@alaska.gov

Stephen Sylvester, Supervisor
Phone: 907 269-3865
Stephen.sylvester@alaska.gov
Brandi Reischman EFT/Finance
Phone: 907 269-6750
brandi.reischman@alaska.gov

Website:

https://childsupport.alaska.gov/Home/Employers.aspx

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st payday after receipt

When to Start Withholding

1st payday after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, mandatory retirement plans

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, mandatory retirement plans

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears, interest

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears, interest

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

40% of disposable income; may go up to 65% when good cause is determined by
agency as outlined in Alaska Admin. Code

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

40% of disposable income; may go up to 65% when good cause is determined by
agency as outlined in Alaska Admin. Code

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- 100%
employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- 100%
employees

Allocation of orders Prorate

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Income Withholding
This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter
the state name in the search field.

Alaska

Other Information

Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees Promptly
with orders only)

When to send termination notice (for employees Promptly
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's 3 years after termination
termination
How long to retain order after employee's 3 years after termination
termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $5 per payment
by employer (optional)

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $5 per payment
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite Alaska Employer's Guide to Wage Withholding for Child Support; Ak. Stat.
§825.27.062, 25.27.255; 15 Ak. Adm. Code §125.540

Legislative cite Alaska Employer's Guide to Wage Withholding for Child Support; Ak. Stat.
§825.27.062, 25.27.255; 15 Ak. Adm. Code §125.540

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 3 of 60
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024



State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Arizona

State Contact Information

Address

Phone: 602-771-8000

Phone: 602-771-8127

Fax: 602-771-8130

E-mail: DCSSpolicyquestions@azdes.gov

Arizona Department of Economic Security

Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) Policy Unit
PO Box 40458

Attention: Mail Drop 7713

Phoenix, Arizona 85067

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring 14 days after date of notice

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

2 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, local income taxes, FICA, Medicare taxes

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears, interest

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of disposable income

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50% of the payment

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

At least 90 days

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

For the cost of compliance the employer or payor may also withhold and retain an
additional one dollar per payment but not more than four dollars per month for
each obligor.

AR.S. § 25-504.H

Legislative cite

A.R.S. §825-504, 33-1131;
A.R.S. § 25-505.01

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Arkansas

State Contact Information

Address

Amber Long
Phone: 800-216-0224
E-mail: employer.relations@ocse.arkansas.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring 14 days after date notice was mailed

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Payday

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, local income taxes, FICA, Medicare, Railroad Retirement

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears, interest

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Amounts allowed pursuant to the federal Consumer Credit Protection Act

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

None. However, amounts withheld from lump sum payments, as defined under
state law, are limited to the full amount of the past due support but not to exceed
50% of the lump sum payment. Contact AR OCSE to verify arrears.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Immediately

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Keep on file until notified

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2.50 per payment

Legislative cite

A.C.A. §89-12-312, 9-14-224, 9-14-227, 9-14-228

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024

Page 5 of 60




State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

California

State Contact Information

Address

California Department of Child Support Services
Customer Service

Phone: 866-901-3212

Email: dcssemployerinquiries@dcss.ca.gov

Visit Employer Resource Center | CA Child Support
Services, for more information.
https://childsupport.ca.gov/employer-resource-
center/

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

Within 10 days after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

No longer than 7 business days after the payment is withheld.

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, and local taxes; FICA; Medicare; and disability insurance; union
dues; deductions for disability insurance and payments to public employees’
retirement systems, provided that the deductions are required as a condition of
employment.

Priority for withholding

At this time, California allows for the non-aided individual to choose between
medical support and current support. For aided individuals, it is always current
support that is prioritized.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Except as provided by the court, the maximum withholding is 50% of the net
disposable earnings; or 25% (may be lower by written agreement) of state
disability, temporary worker's compensation benefits, or unemployment benefit
payments. A court ordered IWO is limited to the limit under Section 1673 of Title
15 of the US Code.

If the lump sum does not involve "earnings," then the lump sum would be subject
to a 100% attachment depending on arrears amount owed. For example, a lump
sum involving a civil judgment award not involving earnings would be subject to
the maximum 100% attachment.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Any moneys payable to the individual based upon compensation of personal
service whether it is wages, salaries, commission, bonus, pay, allowances, or
otherwise can be withheld to pay child support. With the exception provided by the
court, the maximum withholding is 50% of the net disposable earnings.
Withholding from independent contractors is allowed by California law.

Allocation of orders

Prorate - If the NCP has more than one garnishment for support, total the amounts
due for all assignments. If 50% of the NCP's net disposable earnings cannot
satisfy all of the garnishments, prorate first among all the current obligations. Any
remainder is applied to arrears in the same manner.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

California

Other Information

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Within 10 days

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Generally, the employer must retain the IWO until such time that the employer has
been notified that the IWO has been terminated. By operation of law a withholding
order for support shall automatically terminate one year after the employment of
the employee by the employer terminates.

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$1.50 per payment

Legislative cite

Cal. Civ. Proc. Code §8706.022, §§706.030, 706.052; Cal. Fam. Code 885235,
5231, 5238, 5246; 5282; 22 California Code of Regulations 8§ 116100, 110280

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Colorado

State Contact Information

Address

Janine Archuletta
Phone: 303-866-4548
Email: cdhs_fsremployerservices@state.co.us

Employer Services Unit
Phone: 1-800-696-1468

Website: www.childsupport.state.co.us

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

First pay period that begins within 14 business days from the date of the
withholding notice

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA and health insurance premiums

Priority for withholding

Current support and current support when combined with alimony, medical
support, arrears (child support, alimony and medical support), alimony only

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Colorado law (C.R.S.813-54-104) exactly matches federal law (15 USC 1673);
50% to 65% of disposable income depending upon age of arrears and whether the
employee is supporting other dependents.

For cases administered by Colorado Division of Child Support Services, the limits
are 50% if the arrears are less than 12 weeks old and 55% if the arrears are
greater than 12 weeks.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50% if the arrears are less than 12 weeks old and 55% if the arrears are greater
than 12 weeks

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Keep on file until notified by child support agency

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5 per month (from remainder of employee's income after deductions and
withholding)

Legislative cite

C.R.S.88 13-54-104, 14-10-115, 14-14-102 and 14-14-111.5

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Connecticut

State Contact Information

Address

Phone: 888-233-7223
Website: https://ct.smartchildsupport.com

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after 14 days from service

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state city taxes, FICA, normal retirement contributions, union dues, group
life and health insurance premiums*.
* Cash child support has priority over med insurance premium.

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

If weekly disposable income is:

Less than $145, then maximum amount to withhold is 15% (e.g., withhold $15 if
weekly disposable is $100). *

Greater than $145, then maximum amount to withhold is weekly disposable
minus $123.25*

*unless lower amount ordered

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Connecticut does withhold from non-employee payments:

(1) eighty-five per cent of the first one hundred forty-five dollars per week of
disposable income, or (2) the amount exempt under Section 1673 of Title 15 of the
United States Code, or against any lesser amount which the court or family
support magistrate deems equitable.

CGS 52-362(e) . The withholding limits specified in the statute are not limited to
any type of source of income. Their universal for any withholding payments
subject to 52-362 withholding orders.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No retention unless employee may return at a later date

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

No provision

Legislative cite

CT General Statutes Sec. 52-362(e).

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Delaware

State Contact Information

Address

Leslie Woods, Social Services Administrator
Phone: 302-395-6523
Email: leslie.woods@state.de.us

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

No later than the first pay period occurring 7 days after receipt of IWO

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

On or before payday

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, mandatory retirement, union dues

Priority for withholding

Current support, arrears, health insurance premiums

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal CCPA limits of 50 to 65%

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50 to 65% of the payment

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Upon termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Fee of $2 per employee, per pay period, per case.

Legislative cite

13 DE. Code 8513

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

District of Columbia

State Contact Information

Address

Aggie Rhodes, Wage Withholding Manager
Phone: 202-442-7089
Email: aggie.rhodes@dc.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

No later than the first pay period occurring 10 days after the date the notice or
order to withhold was issued.

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

No later than seven (7) business days after the date the income would have been
paid to the obligor.

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, local taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Follow the CCPA

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

None

Allocation of orders

Withhold-ings are prorated among the obligor's orders up to the limits of the
CCPA.

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Within 10 days after the obligor's termination or within 10 days after the employer
receives notice of the termination from the obligor.

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

The District has no law or policy on this issue.

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2.00 per deduction per pay period.

Legislative cite

D.C. Official Code §846-208, 46-212, 46-216, 46-217 (2008).

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Florida

State Contact Information

Address

Florida Child Support Employer Line
Phone: 850-617-8989

Email:
EmpBonuses@floridarevenue.com

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

No later than the first payment date which occurs more than 14 days after the date
the income deduction notice was served on the payor.

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

2 days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears, then other medical coverage

with orders only)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to CCPA
employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- CCPA
employees

Allocation of orders Prorate
When to send termination notice (for employees Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5 for 1st payment, $2 per payment thereafter

Legislative cite

Fla. Stat. §61.1301
Website: http://flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2011/61.1301

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Georgia

State Contact Information

Address

Georgia Employer Hub

Primary: 844-424-3482

Fax: 770-390-4205

GEHub@dhs.ga.gov
https://childsupport.georgia.gov/employers

Division of Child Support Services
2 Peachtree St., N.W.

20th Floor

Atlanta, GA 30303

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

No later than the first pay period that occurs after 14 days following the date the
notice was mailed

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Within two business days after each payment date

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, local taxes, FICA, Medicare

Priority for withholding

Current support, medical insurance if ordered in a specific dollar amount, arrears.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal CCPA limits of 50% - 65%; 50% for Orders to Withhold and Deliver

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50% - 65%; 50% for Orders to Withhold and Deliver

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Immediately

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Up to $25.00 against the obligor's income to reimburse the payor for
administrative costs for the first income deduction pursuant to an income
deduction order and up to $3.00 for each deduction thereafter.

Legislative cite

0.C.G.A. §19-6-33
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/gacode/Default.asp

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Guam

State Contact Information

Address

Raymond B. llagan
Phone: 671-475-3360 ext.1870
E-mail: raymond.ilagan@guamcse.net

Anthony Blas, Chief Investigator
Phone: 671-475-3360 ext. 1260
Email: anthony.blas@guamcse.net

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

First pay period after receipt of the Order

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Within 5 days of the day an employee's pay is due

Mandatory deductions

Local tax, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, current medical support, child support arrears, medical support
arrears, genetic test fees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

60% of disposable income, but only 50% if NCP supporting either a spouse or
child not subject of an Order

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Allocation of orders

Divide equally

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Immediately

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Notify agency if employee is terminated

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

No fee allowed

Legislative cite

5 GCA Section 34132, 34133.1, 34134, 34135, 34137, 34138

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Hawaii

State Contact Information

Address

Kaleialoha Vierra, CSE Specialist
Phone: 808-692-7147

Fax: 808-692-7134

E-mail: kalei.a.vierra@hawaii.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period within 7 days from mailing

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

5 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

No policy with respect to medical support priority at this time

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act limits

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-

None. Hawaii has no statute limiting withholding of child support from payments to

with orders only)

employees non-employees.
Allocation of orders Prorate
When to send termination notice (for employees Immediately

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Keep order until notified by IV-D

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per payment

Legislative cite

H.R.S. 8576E-16

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024

Page 15 of 60




State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Idaho

State Contact Information

Address

Katie Elison
Phone: 208-455-7245
Email: katie.elison@dhw.idaho.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal and state taxes

Priority for withholding

Current support, medical support, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of disposable income

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50% of the payment

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Keep until notified

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5 per payment

Legislative cite

Id. Code 832-1210

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

lllinois

State Contact Information

Address

Maximus

Collection and Asset Recovery
Phone: 888-245-1938

Email: iwoteam@maximus.com

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st payday after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days; if remitting for 10 or more employees OR if have 250 employees
or more (do not all have to be in IL) and remitting for 1 or more, must send
payments ELECTRONICALLY

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, and local taxes and other retirement and disability contributions
required to be withheld by law, FICA, union dues and amounts exempted by the
federal Consumer Credit Protection Act

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

No withholding limits aside from those established Federally.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Assuming the payment represents income to the individual as defined by 750
ILCS 28/15(d), then lllinois instructs the employer, income withholder, or payor to
withhold up to 50% of the payment, if the full amount of support ordered cannot be
withheld.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

7 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5 per month

Legislative cite

750 ILCS 28/35

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Indiana

State Contact Information

Address

Employer Maintenance Unit
EMU@dcs.in.gov
P: 800-292-0403 (opt 1, opt 4)

402 W Washington St MS 11
Indianapolis IN 46204

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

14 business days after order is received

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

If the employer has more than 50 employ-ees on staff and is remitting more than
one child support payment, they are required to do it electronically.

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, arrears, health insurance premiums

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Amounts allowed by the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 USC
1673(b))

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

If a payment is not protected by the CCPA, employer should garnish 100% of the
payment but no more than the amount of arrears.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per payment

Legislative cite

Ind. Code Ann. §§31-16-15-15, 31-16-15-17, 31-16-15-18

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Income Withholding
This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter
the state name in the search field.

lowa

State Contact Information Address

Tamar McCunniff, Administrative Assistant Il
Phone: 319-226-7040

Phone: 877-274-2580

Email: csrue@dhs.state.ia.us

Fax: 515-564-4103

Other Information

When to Start Withholding 10 days after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number 7 business days
of days stated, after payday)

Mandatory deductions Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding No policy with respect to medical support priority at this time
Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to 50% of net disposable income

employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- 50% of the payment
employees

Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees Promptly
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's No law or policy
termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $2 per payment
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite lowa Code 88252D.17, 252D.18A

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 19 of 60
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024



State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Kansas

State Contact Information

Address

State Contact Information:
Kansas Child Support Services
1-888-757-2445, select employer option

Email: DCF.CSSEmployers@ks.gov

Website:
http://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/CSS/Pages/Income-
Withholding-Order-general-information.aspx.

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after 14 days from receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Any amounts required by law to be withheld, other than creditor claims, including,
but not limited to, federal and state taxes, social security tax and other retirement
and disability contributions.

Priority for withholding

Current support, arrears, health insurance premiums

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

The entire sum withheld by the payor, including the cost recovery fee and
premiums due from the obligor which are incurred solely because of a medical
withholding order, shall not exceed 50% of the obligor's disposable income as
defined by section 302(b) of the consumer credit protection act, 15 U.S.C. §
1672(b).

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

The entire sum withheld by the payor, including the cost recovery fee and
premiums due from the obligor which are incurred solely because of a medical
withholding order, shall not exceed 50% of the obligor's disposable income as
defined by section 302(b) of the consumer credit protection act, 15 U.S.C. §
1672(b).

Allocation of orders

pro-rate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Kansas

Other Information

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Lesser of $5 per pay period or $10 per month for income withheld from periodic

payments (e.g. regular compensation). An additional $10 may be withheld for any
lump sum withholdings.

Legislative cite

23-3101 et seq.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Kentucky

State Contact Information

Address

Kelli.Blair
Phone: 502-564-5790
Email: Kelli.Blair@ky.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

The first pay period that occurs 14 days after the date of the notice

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act limits of 50-65%

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Kentucky can withhold up to 100% of the payment amount or the obligation due,
whichever is less, depending on whether the income is determined to be derived
from earnings.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$1 per payment

Legislative cite

Kentucky Revised Statutes 405.465 and 405.467

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Income Withholding
This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter
the state name in the search field.

Louisiana

State Contact Information Address

Zelda Thomas, CSE Manager

Phone: 225-342-2148

Fax: 225-342-8822

E-mail: Zelda.Thomas.DCFS@LA.GOV

Other Information

When to Start Withholding 1st pay period after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number 7 business days
of days stated, after payday)

Mandatory deductions Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, retirement, medical, life insurance

Priority for withholding Health insurance premiums, current support, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to 50% of disposable income

employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- LA has no limit to the amount that may be withheld, therefore the full amount of
employees the payment can be withheld for Child support.

Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees 10 days after termination
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's No law or policy
termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $5 per pay period
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite La. R.S. 13:3881, 46:236.3

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 23 of 60
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024



State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Maine

State Contact Information

Address

Compliance Team
Email: ComplianceTeam.DHHS@maine.gov
Phone: 207-624-4100

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st payday after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, state employee's retirement, required union dues

Priority for withholding

Current child support, arrears, health insurance premiums

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to None
employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

15 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Order stands until released by the child support agency

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per payment

Legislative cite

14 M.R.S.A. 83126-A; 19-A M.R.S.A. 882306, 2652, 2663; Code Me. R. 10-144-
351

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Maryland

State Contact Information

Address

Cynthia E. Shockey

CSA Financial Lead

Policy & Training Unit

Child Support Administration

Maryland Department of Human Services
Email: cynthia.shockey@maryland.gov
Mon - Fri, 9 am - 4 pm, EST

Maryland Department of Human Services
311 W. Saratoga Street, 3rd Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, arrears, health insurance premiums, and cash medical support

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Amounts allowed by the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 USC Section
1673(b))

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Follow instructions in the Supplemental Information Section of the IWO.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Not required

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per payment

Legislative cite

Md. Code Ann., Family Law 8810-128, 10-129, 10-130

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Massachusetts

State Contact Information

Address

Kathlyn Cox-Breen
Phone: 617-887-7562
Email: cox@dor.state.ma.us

DORY/Child Support Enforcement Division

Dave Centrella
Phone: 617-887-7632
Email: centrella@dor.state.ma.us

Michael Hood
Phone: 617-887-7592
Email: hoodm@dor.state.ma.us

PO Box 7057
Boston , MA 2204

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st payday more than 3 days after notice

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

3 days; if remitting for 5 or more employees, must send payments electronically

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA and mandatory public employee deductions

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act limits

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act limits

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Before next payday following termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$1 per payment

Legislative cite

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 119A, section 12

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Michigan

State Contact Information

Address

Chris Townsend
Phone: 517-241-5053
Email: townsendc2@michigan.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

7 days after service

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

3 days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, arrears, health insurance premiums

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of disposable earnings as that term is defined in the Consumer Credit
Protection Act (CCPA) at 15 USC 1672

Ref: MCL 552.608, MCL 552.611a, and MCL 552.626b

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

No limit on payments or income that is not earnings or disposable earnings as
those terms are defined in the Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) at 15 USC
1672. Ref: MCL 552.608, MCL 552.611a, and MCL 552.626b.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Until notified by agency;
IWN stays in effect even upon return to employment

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Income submitted by electronic means:$1 each payment, but not to exceed $2 per
month

Income submitted by other means:$2 each payment, but not to exceed $4 per
month

Legislative cite

M.C.L. §8 552.608, 552.609, 552.611, 552.611a, 552.614,
552.623

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024

Page 27 of 60




State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Minnesota

State Contact Information

Address

MN CSD Help Desk

Phone: 651-431-4400

Phone: 800-657-3890 (toll-free)

Fax: 651-431-7544

Email: DHS.CSD.Letters@state.mn.us

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring 14 days after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

No policy with respect to medical support priority at this time

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50-65% of disposable income as dictated by the Consumer Credit Protection Act
(CCPA), United States Code, title 15, section 1673(b)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

No limit on payments or income that is not earnings or disposable earnings as
those terms are defined in the Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) at 15 USC
1672.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$1 per payment

Legislative cite

Minn. Stat. § 8518A.53

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Mississippi

State Contact Information

Address

Mississippi Customer Service:

Phone: 1-877-882-4916 and follow prompt for
employers

Email: msemployers@youngwilliams.com

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period within 14 days after service

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, other retirement and disability contributions

Priority for withholding

No policy with respect to medical support priority at this time

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50-65% as promulgated by the Federal Credit Consumer Protection Act (15 USC
Section 1673(b))

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Mississippi has no withholding limit except those prescribed by federal law.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Do not retain; return copy of order to agency after termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per payment plus $5 to be withheld each month for DHS (the monthly $5 may
be sent in with the withheld obligation).

Legislative cite

Miss. Code Ann. §93-11-111

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Missouri

State Contact Information

Address

Matthew Williams
Phone: 800-585-9234
Email: FSD.EmployerTeam@dss.mo.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

2 weeks after mailing or electronic issuance of notice

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support (would include a dollar-specific medical support obligation), health
insurance premiums, current spousal support, arrears, interest

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

State withholding statutes invoke the CCPA. However, withholding orders issued
by the Missouri IV-D
agency limit the withholding to 50% of the disposable earnings.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

If the payments are earnings as defined by the CCPA, the withholding is limited to
50% of the disposable earnings. If the payment is not earnings as defined by the
CCPA, there is no limitation on the withholding amount.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Within 10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Until notified by enforcing authority

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$6 per month

Legislative cite

Section
454.505, RSMo

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Montana

State Contact Information

Address

Shawn Rafferty
Email: SRafferty2@mt.gov
Phone: 406-444-6893

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, employment taxes, mandatory retirement and
mandatory union dues

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of disposable income; if income is not wages, earnings or remuneration for
personal services, up to 100% of net income
(100% of contract proceeds)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Contact the caseworker on the IWO for appropriate amounts to withhold or see
Supplemental Information on hard copy IWOs

Allocation of orders

MCA 40-5-421. Duties of payor.

(3)(b) Withholding of current support that is less than the amount of current
support due all obligees must be prorated among the obligees based on the
amount of current support due each obligee.

(c) Withholding of support arrears must be distributed equally among the obligor's
cases.

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Keep order until notified by IV-D that order is terminated or modified

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5.00 per month per income withholding order.

Legislative cite

Mont. Code Ann. §840-5-423

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Nebraska

State Contact Information

Address

Nebraska Child Support Customer Service Call
Center
Phone: 1-877-631-9973, Option 2

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Child-Support.aspx

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after date of notice

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, mandatory retirement

Priority for withholding

Current child support, spousal support, medical support payments including health
insurance premiums; then arrears- child support, spousal support, then medical
support; then interest on those arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal CCPA limits

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50 - 65% of the payment

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

30 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2.50 per month

Legislative cite

Neb. Rev. Stat. §842-364.01, 42-364.12, 43-1722, 43-1723, 43-1718.02 (2)(i)

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Nevada

State Contact Information

Address

Tracy Sandborn
Email: TSANDBORN@dwss.nv.gov
Phone: 775-684-0589

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring 14 days after date notice is mailed

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal taxes, FICA, Medicare

Priority for withholding

The employer shall allocate the funds available in accordance with the following
priority, unless a court or administrative order directs otherwise:

Current child and spousal support

Health insurance premiums or current cash medical support;

Arrearages

Other child support obligations

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal CCPA limits of 50 - 65%

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50% - 65% of the payment

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Timely

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$3 Employer's Cost Recovery fee: Allows employers to deduct up to $3.00 for
each withholding from the amount paid the employee as reimbursement for the
costs associated with carrying out the withholding.

Legislative cite

Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§31.295, 31A.030, 31A.075, 31A.080, 31A.090

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter
the state name in the search field.

New Hampshire

State Contact Information Address

BCSS Central Information Unit
Phone: 603-271-4438

Phone: 800-852-3345

Email: bess-ciu@dhhs.nh.gov
Fax: 603-271-4787

Web Mail: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcss/contact.htm
Toll Free Phone: 1-800-852-3345 x 4438

Web Site for Employers:
http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcss/employer.htm

Other Information

When to Start Withholding 1st pay period occurring 14 days after date of notice

When to send payment (within a certain number Payday
of days stated, after payday)

Mandatory deductions Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding Current support (child and spousal), health insurance premiums, arrearages
Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to Withholding cannot exceed maximum amount permitted under federal CCPA
employees limits, as specified in 15 U.S.C. 1673(b).

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- Payments to non-employees not subject to withholding but subject to lien. No
employees payment limits except first $1000 of payment is not subject to lien.

Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees 15 days after termination
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's No law or policy
termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $1 per payment
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite NH Rev. Stat. Ann. 8§8458-B:4, 458-B:6, & 461-A:14

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 34 of 60
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024



State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

New Jersey

State Contact Information

Address

Judy Fornier
Phone: 609-631-2798
Email: judy.fornier@dhs.nj.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period ending after postmark date

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Payday

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

New Jersey guidelines have a line item for work related medical coverage;
however, if the coverage is out-of-pocket, the priority is current support, health
insurance premiums, arrears.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Shall not exceed the maximum amount permitted under section 303 (b) of the
federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. s. 1673 (b)).

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

If in response to an Income Withholding Order (IWO), you must apply the CCPA
limit. If in response to a Writ of Execution, you must withhold the full amount
specified in the Writ.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law; if employee leaves, notify IV-D

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$1 per payment

Legislative cite

N.J. Stat. §§2A:17-56.8, 2A:17-56.11

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024

Page 35 of 60




State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

New Mexico

State Contact Information

Address

Benjamin Sosa-Ventura
Phone: 505-670-5663
Email: Benjamin.Sosa-Ventura@state.nm.us

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

Next payday after service

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, union dues

Priority for withholding

Current support (child and spousal), health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of disposable income

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- No limit
employees
Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

No specific provision; governed by federal requirements to send termination
notice"promptly"

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$1 per payment

Legislative cite

N.M. Stat. Ann. §840-4A-6, 40-4A-8

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

New York

State Contact Information

Address

New York State Child Support
Customer Service Helpline
Phone: 888-208-4485

Email: nysdcse@otda.ny.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after 14 days after service

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, and FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Limits for any IWO issued by NY child support agency on or after August 29, 2018
are 50% if no arrears or arrears less than 12 weeks. If arrears are greater than 12
weeks, the limit is 55%.

IWOs issued prior to August 29, 2018 and those issued by courts or attorneys
follow the federal CCPA limits of 50% - 65%.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

No limit on payments or income that is not earnings for personal service or
disposable earnings as those terms are defined in the Consumer Credit Protection
Act (CCPA).

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Return order to issuer if employee terminates

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

No provision

Legislative cite

N.Y. Civil Practice Law & Rules 85241

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024

Page 37 of 60




State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

North Carolina

State Contact Information

Address

North Carolina Child Support
Phone: 800-992-9457

North Carolina Website
https://www.ncchildsupport.com/ecoa/index.jsp

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring 14 days after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, and involuntary retirement contributions

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

40% of disposable income if one order only; 45% if multiple orders and NCP
directly supports other dependents; 50% if multiple orders and no other
dependents.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

40% of the payment if one order only; 45% if multiple orders and NCP directly
supports other dependents; 50% if multiple orders and no other dependents

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per payment

Legislative cite

N.C. Gen. Stat. §§110-136.6, 110-136.8

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

North Dakota

State Contact Information

Address

Rona Schmidt
Phone: 701-328-7516
Email: reschmidt@nd.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

Next payday after receipt of notice

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Deductions required by law for taxes and social security.

Priority for withholding

State income withholding law provides that child support payments must be
satisfied before any payment is made to the health insurance provider.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Not to exceed 50% of the obligor's
disposable income . . . N.D.C.C. § 14-09-09.16(6)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Not to exceed 50% of the obligor's disposable income ... N.D.C.C. § 14-09-
09.16(6).

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Within 7 business days of termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Until notified by child support agency that order has terminated

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$3 per month

Legislative cite

N.D. Cent. Code §14-09-09.16, 14-09-09.10

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Ohio

State Contact Information

Address

First Choice: Contact the local child support agency
Website for county listing:
http://jfs.ohio.gov/County/County_Directory.pdf

Second Choice:
Eric Gladden
Eric.Gladden01@jfs.ohio.gov

Contact the local child support agency listed on the income withholding.

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

Begin the withholding no later than: (a)

Fourteen business days from the date the notice is mailed to the payor; or (b)
The first pay period that occurs after fourteen business days from the date the
notice is mailed to the payor.

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Send the amount withheld to the Ohio Child Support Payment Central (CSPC)
immediately but no later than seven business days after the obligor is paid.

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Ohio gives priority to all forms of cash child support first (e.g., current support,
periodic arrears, fees, reimbursements) and the medical insurance premium
second. This priority is dictated by Ohio Revised Code section 3119.36(B) which
requires an employer to return the NMSN without action if the combined total of
the support payment and the medical insurance premium exceeds CCPA.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of the disposable income if the obligor is supporting another family
and 60% of the disposable income if the obligor is not supporting another
family. However, those limits increase 5% - to 55% and 65% - if the
arrears are greater than 12 weeks

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Ohio has no additional withholding limits other than those prescribed by
federal law

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 business days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Order to be kept on file until notified by IV-D to terminate or to reduce withholding

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

the state name in the search field.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

Ohio

Other Information

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite

$2 or up to 1% of payment, whichever is greater

Ohio Rev. Code §83121.03, 3121.033, 3121.034, 3121.037, 3121.18, 3121.19,
3121.20

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Oklahoma

State Contact Information

Address

Employer Services Center
Phone: 866-553-2368
E-mail: OCSS.Contact.ESC@okdhs.org

DHS/CSS
PO Box 248805
Oklahoma City , OK 73124

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

Next payday after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Effective 10-01-07, employers receiving an income assignment and NMSN are to
allocate withholdings to (1) current child and spousal support, then (2) health
insurance premiums, then (3) arrearages, then (4) other child support obligations.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Oklahoma follows the CCPA limits of 50-65%

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

The payer should withhold 100% of the amount due each month. Do not exceed
the total monthly amount to withhold each month.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Orders to be kept on file indefinitely

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5 per payment; up to $10 per month

Legislative cite

12 Okla. Stat. §81171.2, 1171.3

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Oregon

State Contact Information

Address

Employer Services

Phone: 866-907-2857

Email:
ChildSupportEmployerServices@doj.state.or.us

Oregon Child Support Program
PO Box 14680
Salem OR 97309

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring not later than 5 business days after date of order to
withhold. (ORS 25.411)

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Within 7 business days after the obligor receives income. (ORS 25.411)

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, worker's compensation, statutory pension
contributions

Priority for withholding

Current cash child/medical/spousal support, then arrears for child/medical/spousal
support and last health care coverage premium. (ORS 25.414)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

For cases with current support and no arrears, the amount to withhold is the court-
ordered amount. For cases with current support and arrears, the amount to
withhold per month is 120% of the court-ordered amount. For cases with arrears
only, the amount to withhold is the last court-ordered amount. The amount
withheld may not exceed 50% of net disposable income. If withholding is for
arrears only and is issued for attachment of Veterans or Black Lung or Social
Security Disability benefits, the claimant must retain an amount equal to 160 hours
multiplied by the federal minimum wage rate before withholding can occur. (ORS
25.414)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Payments to non-employees for compensation, personal services, salary,
commission, bonus, pension, retirement, cash dividends, interest payments,
substitute wages, and amounts owed to independent contractors qualify for
withholding child support when more than $4.99 is owed to an obligor. A
withholder is considered any person who pays an obligor income. (ORS 25.010)
The maximum withholding amount for non-employees is 50% of the amount of the
payment. (ORS 25.010 & 25.414(8))

Allocation of orders

Prorate current or current and arrears support cases only before withholding
arrears or past due "only" orders. If withholding for arrears or past due only
support, split amount withheld evenly, not to exceed ordered amount. (ORS
25.414(9))

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

No later than the next payday. (ORS 25.421)

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Oregon

Other Information

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

For child support purposes, retain for 60 days after termination notice has been
sent to Oregon Child Support Program. Employers may have additional
requirements under state and federal law.

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5 per order per month. (ORS 25.414(6))

Legislative cite

ORS 25.372 - 25.424

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Pennsylvania

State Contact Information

Address

Stephanie Rush, Human Services Program
Specialist Supervisor

Dept. of Human Services

Phone: 717-782-0139

E-mail: strush@pa.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

No later than 14 days from the issuance of the notice to the employer.

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, current medical support including health insurance premiums,
child support arrears, medical support arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

The maximum amount of any attachment under this section shall not exceed the
limits set forth in the Consumer Credit Protection Act. (23 Pa.C.S. 4348(Q)).

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

The maximum amount of any attachment under this section shall not exceed the
limits set forth in the Consumer Credit Protection Act. (23 Pa.C.S. 4348(Q)).

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

No specific provision; governed by federal requirements to send termination notice
"promptly"

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$50 one-time fee per obligor.

Legislative cite

23 Pa. C.S. 84348

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Puerto Rico

State Contact Information

Address

Employer Services
E-mail: patronos@asume.pr.gov

Ada Lopez
Phone : 787-767-1500 ext. 2859
Email: alopez2@asume.pr.gov

Jessica Figueroa
Phone:787-767-1500 ext. 2826
Email: jigueroa@asume.pr.gov

Roberto Hernandez
Phone: 787-767-1500 ext. 2846
Email: Rhernandez@asume.pr.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

7 business days after 1st payday

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

No information available at this time

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

federal CCPA income withholding limits of 50% - 65%

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

30 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Orders to be kept on file until 30 days after termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Will be stated on order (up to $1 per payment)

Legislative cite

8 L.P.R.A. 8523

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Rhode Island

State Contact Information

Address

Kathleen McCusker, Assistant Administrator
Phone: 401-458-4427
Email: Kathleen.McCusker@dhs.ri.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1 week from date received

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA and Medicare taxes

Priority for withholding

Current support, current medical support (cash order), current spousal support
and then arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Rhode Island follows federal law (15 USC 1673); 50% to 65% of disposable
income depending upon amount of arrears and whether the employee is
supporting other dependents.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Not applicable as Rhode Island does not garnish non-employees' payments.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Order remains in effect until modified or terminated by court

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$2 per payment

Legislative cite

R.l. Gen. Laws §815-5-24, 15-16-5.1, 15-16-9, 15-16-10, 15-16-12

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

South Carolina

State Contact Information

Address

Daniel Scoggins

South Carolina Department of Social Services
Phone: 803-898-1756

Email: daniel.scoggins@dss.sc.gov

Glenn Hastie
Email: glenn.hastie@dss.sc.gov

SC Department of Social Services
Child Support Services Division
Employer Services Unit

PO Box 1469

Columbia, SC 29202-1469

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

Next pay period after service

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, other retirement deductions, disability
contributions

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Federal CCPA Limits - 50% of the disposable income if the obligor is supporting
another family

and 60% of the disposable income if the obligor is not supporting another
family. However, those limits increase 5% - to 55% and 65% - if the

arrears are greater than 12 weeks.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

South Carolina applies the above limits (CCPA limits) to withholdings from
payments to non-employees.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

20 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

If employee leaves, employer's responsibility ends

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$3 per payment

Legislative cite

SC Code Ann 63-17-1420

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

South Dakota

State Contact Information

Address

Division of Child Support
Phone: 605-773-3641
Fax: 605-773-7295
Email: DCS@state.sd.us

Division of Child Support
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st payday after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, Medicare.

Priority for withholding

Current support, arrears, health insurance premiums

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of disposable income; total amount of arrearage may be withheld from
property, money and credits or other income not listed

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50% of the payment

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

5 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Effective
7-1-2004: up to $3.00 per month

Legislative cite

S.D. Cod. L. §825-7A-32, 25-7A-34, 25-7A-35, 25-7A-36

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Tennessee

State Contact Information

Address

Danley McDonel, Manager
Phone: 615-313-4935

Email: danley.mcdonel@tn.gov
Fax: 615-524-3220

TN Child Support Services
400 Deaderick Street, 14th Fl
Nashville, TN 37243

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

14 days after date of the order

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA and health insurance premiums for dependent
listed on the child support order

Priority for withholding

The current support obligations are paid first in the following order: child support,
medical support including health insurance premiums, spousal support. Arrears
obligations are paid next in the same order.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50% of disposable income
Reference TCA 36-5-501(j)(2)(A)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50%.
Reference TCA 36-5-501(j)(2)(A)

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Up to 5% of payment, not to exceed $5 per month

Legislative cite

Tenn. Code Ann. §36-5-501

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Texas

State Contact Information

Address

Christa Arocha-DeLeon
Phone: 800-850-6442
Email: CSS-Outreach@oag.texas.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Payday; for EFT/EDI payments, no later than 2nd business day after payday

Mandatory deductions

To arrive at "Texas Family Code disposable earnings," calculate CCPA disposable
earnings and then subtract union dues and medical, hospital and disability
insurance for employee and dependents.

Priority for withholding

The cost of medical support for coverage provided through the employer is
considered a deduction from income before reaching the disposable income
available for support under the garnishment limits and therefore are not subject to
maximum available income limits; any other medical support order is considered
additional child support and no distinction made for the purpose of withholding
priority. That priority is current support, interest, arrears, costs and fees.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Texas Family Code garnishment cap is 50% of Texas Family Code disposable
earnings, plus the garnishment amount for health insurance; if the CCPA
garnishment limit is lower, the CCPA limit applies.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- 50%
employees
Allocation of orders Divide equally

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

7 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No law or policy

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$10 per month

Legislative cite

Tex. Fam. Code §§158.009, 158.202, 158.203, 158.204 158.207, 158.211

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Utah

State Contact Information

Address

Mary Burgener
Email: mburgene@utah.gov

Office of Recovery Services
PO Box 45033
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring 5 business days after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

7 business days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, and Medicare

Priority for withholding

If withholding is required for employee contributions to one or more plans under
this notice and for a support obligation under a separate notice and available
funds are insufficient for withholding for both cash and medical support
contributions, the employer must withhold amounts for purposes of cash support
and medical support contributions in accordance with the law, if any, of the State
of the employee's principal place of employment requiring prioritization between
cash and medical support, as described here: If the employee's principal place of
employment is in Utah, deduct current child support before deducting amounts for
health insurance coverage. As required under section 2.b.2. of the Employer
Responsibilities, complete item 5 of the Employer Response to notify the Issuing
Agency that enrollment cannot be completed because of prioritization or
limitations on withholding.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Utah Code Annotated 62A-11-406 limits the total amount of an employee's
income withheld for child support to the maximum permitted under Section 303(b)
of the Consumer Credit Protection Act as cited in 15 U.S.C. Section 1673(b). In
general, income withholding will be limited to withholding 50% of the employee's
disposable income. If 50% of the employee's income does not result in
withholding sufficient to cover the employee's current support and medical support
obligations, the employee's circumstances may be reviewed to determine whether
a higher percentage is permitted under the provisions of the Consumer Credit
Protection Act .

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Utah Code defines those who are subject to income withholding for child support
and medical support as an individual who receives a payment from a "payor"
regardless of whether the income is "earnings, compensation, or other payment
due..." such as a "contract payment" (62A-11-103(8). As a result, Utah Code
applies the same withholding amounts for employees as non-employees, which is
generally 50% of the non-employee/contractor's payment.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

5 days after termination
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Utah

Other Information

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Keep withholding order in place until notified

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

One-time fee of $25 (may be charged all at once, or over several pay periods)

Legislative cite

Utah Code Ann. 8§62A-11-406, 62A-11-407, 62A-11-413, 62A-11-506, 62A-11-

507, 78-7-44; Rule 64D of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; Utah Adm. Code
R527-302-1
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Income Withholding
This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter
the state name in the search field.

Vermont

State Contact Information Address

Vermont Customer Service Unit
Phone: 800-786-3214

Fax: 802-241-6534

E-mail: ocscsu@vermont.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding 10 days after receipt or next payday

When to send payment (within a certain number 7 business days
of days stated, after payday)

Mandatory deductions Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding Current child support, medical support, child support arrears, medical support
arrears, surcharge

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to Follow CCPA limits
employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- None
employees

Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees Within 10 days of the date employment is terminated
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's No law or policy
termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $5 per month
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite 15V.S.A. 88787, 789
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Virginia

State Contact Information

Address

Virginia DCSE Customer Service Center
Phone: 1-800-468-8894
Email: askdcse@dss.virginia.gov

Virginia Division of Child Support Enforcement
801 East Main Street, 12th floor
Richmond, VA 23219-2901

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

Next payday after service

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Payday if by mail; 4 days after payday if via EFT

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, arrears (including interest), health insurance premium

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

50-65% of disposable earnings consistent with the Federal CCPA limits, Code of
Virginia 834-29 closely follows the federal CCPA.. All IWOs issued by the Virginia
child support agency provide the withholding limit information on the Income
Withholding Order.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

50-65% of the payment. All IWOs issued by the Virginia child support agency
provide the withholding limit information on the Income Withholding Order.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

No specific retention period

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$5 per payment

Legislative cite

Va. Code Ann. 8820-79.3, 34-29, 63.2-1923
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Virgin Islands

State Contact Information

Address

Kathryn Jensen-DelLugo, Acting Director
Paternity and Child Support Division US Virgin
Islands Department of Justice

Phone: 340-775-3070 (off) ext 5040

E-mail: kathryn.jensen-delugo@doj.vi.gov

Paternity and Child Support Division/DOJ
8000 Nisky Center, Ste. 500, 2nd Flr.
St. Thomas, VI 00802

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

No statutory policy; preference for current support, medical support including
health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to None
employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-

employees

Allocation of orders Divide equally

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Order to be kept until date of termination or modification

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Up to $1

Legislative cite

Office of Child Support Enforcement
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Income Withholding
This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter
the state name in the search field.

Washington

State Contact Information Address

Email: LSC@dshs.wa.gov

Alternative email: Andrea.Henderson@dshs.wa.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding 1st payday after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number 7 days
of days stated, after payday)

Mandatory deductions Federal, state, city taxes, FICA, Medicare, statutory pension contributions,
mandatory union dues

Priority for withholding Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears, interest
Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to 50% of disposable income
employees

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- 50% of payments
employees

Allocation of orders Divide equally

When to send termination notice (for employees Promptly
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's Discard upon termination
termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $10 for 1st payment; $1 for all others
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite Wash. Rev. Code 8826.18.090, 26.18.110, 26.23.060
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

West Virginia

State Contact Information

Address

Jean Sheppard, CFO/Deputy Commissioner
Phone: 304-720-4726
E-Mail: jean.j.sheppard@wv.gov

Phone: ERU Hotline 800-835-4683

350 Capitol Street, Room 147
Charleston , WV 25301

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period occurring 14 days from date of order is mailed to employer

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

Payday

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

W. Va. Code 848-14-408 reduces the CCPA limits by 10% each. Also, in a case
with current support, the arrearage collection cannot be more than 25% of the
current support amount. The 25% limit can be increased by up to $200 per month
if the obligor owes a substantial arrearage. (W. Va. Code §48-14-801)

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Same as for employees, unless the withholding notice specifies to take the entire
amount

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

Promptly

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

There is no specific requirement for retention of paper document.

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

$1 per payment

Legislative cite

W. Va. Code §848-14-406, 48-14-407, 48-14-408, 48-14-409, 48-14-410, 48-14-
412
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Income Withholding

This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter

the state name in the search field.

Wisconsin

State Contact Information

Address

Katherine Marek
Email: katherine.marek@wisconsin.gov

Other Information

When to Start Withholding

1st pay period after receipt

When to send payment (within a certain number
of days stated, after payday)

5 days

Mandatory deductions

Federal, state, city taxes, FICA

Priority for withholding

Current child and spousal support, health insurance premiums.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to
employees

Wisconsin follows the federal CCPA limits of 50, 55, 60 or 65% of net disposable
income depending on the circumstance of the child support obligor/employer.

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non-
employees

Same as above.

Allocation of orders

Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees
with orders only)

10 days after termination

How long to retain order after employee's
termination

Retain until notified by child support agency

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken
by employer (optional)

Actual costs up to $3 per payment (remittance)

Legislative cite

Wis. Stat. §88767.75

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
03/13/2024

Page 59 of 60




State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Income Withholding
This document provides the state-specific contact, address and information about income withholding.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter
the state name in the search field.

Wyoming

State Contact Information Address

Denise Dunn, Program Manager
Phone: 307-777-5653

Email: denise.dunn@wyo.gov
Fax: 307-777-5588

Other Information

When to Start Withholding 1st pay period after service

When to send payment (within a certain number 7 business days
of days stated, after payday)

Mandatory deductions Personal income taxes, social security and Medicare deductions, cost of
dependent health care coverage for all dependent children and mandatory
pension deductions

Priority for withholding Current support, health insurance premiums, arrears

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to Not more than 65% of gross income after deducting federal taxes. Wyoming
employees follows 15 U.S.C. 1673 (CCPA).

Withholding limit(s) applied to payments to non- Not more than 65% of gross income after deducting federal taxes. Wyoming
employees follows 15 U.S.C. 1673 (CCPA).

Allocation of orders Prorate

When to send termination notice (for employees 30 days after termination
with orders only)

How long to retain order after employee's No law or policy
termination

Maximum administrative fee allowed to be taken $5 per payment
by employer (optional)

Legislative cite Wyo. Stat. §20-2-201-222
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