State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information State Statute on Medical Support Reasonable Cost Definition

Alabama Code of Alabama 1975, Section 27-21B-10 Rule 32(B)(7)(c)(3) Alabama Rules of Judicial

Clifford Smith . Adm.inistration stfates that cfalsh mgdical support or thc? cost

Phone: 334-501-7550 ext. 228 Website: of private health insurance is considered reasonable if the

Fax: 334-821-4297 http://www.legislature.state.al.us/CodeofAlabama/1975/coat | cost to the parent respons?ble for proviFiing medical support

E-mail: clifford.smith@dhr.alabama.gov oc.htm does not exceed 10% of his/her gross income.

Alaska

Friederike Cook

Phone: 907-269-6838

Fax: 907-787-3262

E-mail: friederike.cook@alaska.gov

Arizona ) ) . ]
Arizona Revised Statute 25-320(R)(4) link: A.R.S. 25-320(R)(4) states:

Arizona Dept of Economic Security )

Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) Website: Reasonable cost" means an amount that does not exceed
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp the higher of five per cent of the gross income of the

Policy Unit

PO Box 40458

Attention: Mail Drop Code 7713

Phoenix, Arizona 85067

Phone: 602-771-8127

Fax: 602-771-8130

E-mail: DCSSPolicyQuestions@azdes.gov

obligated parent or an income-based numeric standard that
is prescribed in the child support guidelines.
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State Medical Support

State/Employer Contact and Program Information

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Arkansas

Paula Phillips

Phone: 501-682-3483

Fax: 501-682-6002

Email: paula.phillips@ocse.arkansas.gov

California

Program and Policy Branch
Phone: 916-464-5883

Fax: 916-464-5893

E-mail: policy.branch@dcss.ca.gov

California state statute on medical support can be found in
California Family Code (FC) Sections 3750-3753.

Pursuant to FC Section 3751(a)(2) health insurance
coverage is presumed to be reasonable in cost if the cost to
the responsible parent providing medical support does not
exceed 5 percent of his or her gross income.

Colorado

Mary Clair
Mary.clair@state.co.us
Phone: 303 866 4455
Fax: 303 866 4359

C.R.S. Section 14-10-115(10)(g)

"Where the application of the premium payment on the
guidelines results in a child support order of $50 or less or
the premium payment is 5% or more of the parent's gross
income, ..." (5% reasonable cost standard). Effective
1/1/2017.

Connecticut

Edgar Young

Phone: 860-424-5292

Fax: 860-951-2996

E-mail: edgar.young@ct.gov

Office of Child Support Enforcement
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State Medical Support

State/Employer Contact and Program Information

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Delaware

Ana DePaul

Phone: 302-395-6587

Fax: 302-395-6734

E-mail: ana.depaul@state.de.us

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team

The Delaware Code citation that addresses medical
support is 13 Del C 8513(4):

(4)&#8194;0rder the defendant to elect health insurance
coverage for a child available through the defendant's
employment, otherwise available at reasonable cost as
defined in § 401(b)(11) of this title or to pay directly the cost
of health insurance coverage for a child; provided, however,
that any new or modified order entered in any case brought
under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. § 651
et seq.) shall require either or both parents to provide health
insurance coverage for the child or children who are the
subjects of the child support; and provided, further, that in
any case brought under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act
(42 U.S.C. 8 651 et seq.) in which a parent is ordered to
provide health care coverage for a child through an
employment-related group health plan, the Division of Child
Support Services shall issue the National Medical Support
Notice required by Title IV-D of the Social Security Act (42
U.S.C. § 651 et seq.) and federal regulations promulgated
pursuant thereto, and the Division shall promptly notify the
employer when there is no longer a current order for
medical support in effect for which the Division is
responsible:

a.&#8194;In any case in which a parent is required by court
or administrative order to provide health insurance coverage
for a child and the parent is eligible for family health
coverage through an employer doing business in this State,
such employer shall:

1.Permit such parent to enroll under such family coverage
any such child who is otherwise eligible for such coverage
(without regard to any gggrggg}ezgt season restrictions).

Reasonable cost is not defined in the Delaware Code.
However there is a provision in the Delaware Support
Calculation states that states "insurance is unaffordable if
the cost to cover the parent and child(ren) exceeds 10% of
gross income.

L11716/ZU16




State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information State Statute on Medical Support Reasonable Cost Definition

District of Columbia D.C. Law 17-128, "Child Support Compliance Amendment | Reasonable Health Insurance Coverage Defined: Health

Act of 2007" insurance coverage shall be considered reasonable in cost
if the cost to the parent obligated to provide coverage for the
children subject to the support order does not exceed 5
percent of the parent's gross income.

Yajaira Briganty

Phone: 202-724-2254

Fax: 202-585-0337

Email: Yajaira.Briganty@csed.dc.gov

Florida Florida statutes section 61.13 (1) (b) states: "Health

insurance is presumed to be reasonable in cost if the
incremental cost of adding health insurance for the child or
children does not exceed 5 percent of the gross income, as
defined in s. 61.30, of the parent responsible for providing
health insurance."

Employer Line
Phone: 866-435-2763

Georgia

Lamaya Paschal

Phone: 404-463-1733

Fax: 770 344 3323

E-mail: Irkingl@dhr.state.ga.us

Katika Hambrick
Email: Katika.Hambrick@dhs.ga.gov
Phone: 404 657 3876
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Guam

Pauline R. Chaco

Phone: 671-475-3360, ext. 1210
Fax: 671-475-3203

E-mail: pauline.chaco@guamcse.net

No guidance on definition of "reasonable cost", but the
Referee uses 5% of gross income.

Hawaii

Kaleialoha Vierra
Phone: 808-692-7147
Fax: 808-692-7134

http://www.courts.state.hi.us/self-
help/courts/forms/oahu/child_support.html

Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 576E-17

May be found in the Hawaii Child Support Guidelines: set
"10% of net income" as a reasonableness standard for
private insurance costs.

Idaho

Lisa Johnson
Phone: 208-334-5741
E-mail: Johnsoll@dhw.ldaho.gov

Colin Addington
Phone: 208-334-5715
E-mail: AddingtC@dhw.idaho.gov

Idaho Code 32-1214B(11)

"Reasonable cost" means the cost to the obligor does not
exceed five percent (5%) of his or her gross income.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

lllinois

Barb McDermott
Phone: 217-782-2359
E-mail: barb.mcdermott@illinois.gov

750 ILCS Section 28/22
750 ILCS Section 28/50(a)
750 ILCS Section 5/505.2

Legislation not changed yet so no guidance with respect to
reasonable cost at this time

Indiana

Samuel Keck

Phone: 317-232-4911
Fax: 317-234-4767
Samuel.Keck@dcs.in.gov

Employer Maintenance Unit
Phone: 800-292-0403

IC 31-16-6-4

The cost is considered reasonable if the amount of child
support deductions, and the cost of coverage for the child
only, does not exceed the CCPA limit.

lowa

Phone: 877-274-2580
Fax: 515-564-4103
Website: https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/epay

lowa Code Chapter 252E website -
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/252e.pdf lowa Court
Rules Chapter 9 website -
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/ICRC/9.pdf

Generally, 5% to 1% of gross income, but there are
exceptions

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Kansas

Amy Burgoon
Phone: (785) 296-1584
E-mail: Amy.Burgoon@ks.gov

Health insurance is considered reasonable in cost if the
cost to the parent responsible for providing coverage does
not exceed five percent of that parent's gross income.

Kentucky

Mary W. Sparrow

Phone: 502-564-2285, ext. 4428
Fax: 502-564-0255

E-mail: mary.sparrow@Kky.gov

Reasonable cost is defined in KRS 403.211(8)(a), as, For
purposes of this section, "reasonable in cost" means that
the cost of coverage to the responsible parent does not
exceed five percent (5%) of his or her gross income. The
five percent (5%) standard shall apply to the cost of adding
the child to an existing policy, the difference in cost between
a single and a family policy, or the cost of acquiring a
separate policy to cover the child. If the parties agree or the
court finds good cause exists, the court may order medical
coverage in excess of five percent (5%) of the parent's
gross income.
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Louisiana

Konitra Jack, CSE Manager
Phone: 225-342-2148

Fax: 225-342-8822

E-mail: Konitra.jack.dcfs@la.gov

Charmine Anderson
Phone: 225-342-8902
E-mail: Charmine.Anderson.DCFS@LA.GOV

LA Revised Statute 46:236.1.2(L)

LA Revised Statute 46:236.1.1(13)

Maine

Janet A. Croll

Phone: (207) 624-6988

Fax: (207)287-6883

Email: janet.croll@maine.gov

Link not available at this time

Reasonable cost is defined as 6% of gross income or, if
gross income does not exceed 150% of the federal poverty
level for one person, 0% of gross income.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Maryland

Leslie Kleban

Phone: 410-767-7311

Fax: 410-333-0952

E-mail: Leslie.kleban@maryland.gov

Maryland

Family Law Article, §§12-102--12-102.3, Annotated Code of

The cost of providing health insurance for a child is
considered reasonable if it does not exceed five percent of
the gross income of the parent who is providing the
insurance.

Massachusetts

Karen E. Melkonian

Phone: 617-626-4204

Fax: 617-660-0163

E-mail: melkonian@dor.state.ma.us

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 119A, sec. 12.

Health care coverage shall be deemed available to the
obligor at reasonable cost if it is available through his/her
employer.

Michigan

Vanessa Washington

Phone: 517-241-8328

Fax: 517-373-4980
E-mail:Vanessa.washington@michigan.gov

Laura Cleland

Phone: 517-373-9954

Fax: 517-373-4980

Email: clelandi@michigan.gov

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information State Statute on Medical Support Reasonable Cost Definition

Minnesota

MN Child Support Partners
Phone: 651-431-4344 or
800-657-3890

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 10 of 24
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Mississippi

Debra Johnson-Cockrell

System Support Operations Director

Phone: 601-359-4315

Email: Debra.Johnson-Cockrell@mdhs.ms.gov
Fax: 601-359-4370

43-19-101(6):

All orders involving support of minor children, as a matter of
law, shall include reasonable medical support. Notice to the
obligated parent's employer that medical support has been
ordered shall be on a form as prescribed by the Department
of Human Services. In any case in which the support of any
child is involved, the court shall make the following findings
either on the record or in the judgment:

The availability to all parties of health insurance coverage
for the child(ren);

The cost of health insurance coverage to all parties.

The court shall then make appropriate provisions in the
judgment for the provision of health insurance coverage for
the child(ren) in the manner that is in the best interests of
the child(ren). If the court requires the custodial parent to
obtain the coverage then its cost shall be taken into account
in establishing the child support award. If the court
determines that health insurance coverage is not available
to any party or that it is not available to either party at a cost
that is reasonable as compared to the income of the parties,
then the court shall make specific findings as to such either
on the record or in the judgment. In that event, the court
shall make appropriate provisions in the judgment for the
payment of medical expenses of the child(ren) in the
absence of health insurance coverage.

45 CFR 303.31 (a)(1) states that health insurance, for the
purpose of child support enforcement, is considered
reasonable in cost if the cost to the parent responsible for
providing medical support or ordered to pay cash medical
support does not exceed five percent (5%) of his or her
gross income. In applying the 5% for the cost of private
health insurance, the cost is for adding the child(ren) to the
existing coverage or the difference between self-only and
family coverage.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018
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State Medical Support

State/Employer Contact and Program Information

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Missouri

Richard Massman
Phone: 800 585 9234
Fax: 573 526 5029

Website:
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/Chaptersindex/chaptin
dex454.html

The medical support statutes can be found at 454.600
through 454.645.

No guidance with respect to reasonable cost at this time

Montana

Chad Dexter
Phone: 406-444-1846
E-mail: cdexter@mt.gov

Out-of-Pocket Premium < (Gross Income) x 0.05- *If the
parent's monthly out-of-pocket premium cost for coverage of
the child(ren) is less than or equal to 5% of the parent's
gross income, or- If there is no additional cost to add a
child(ren) to an already existing plan.

Nebraska

Margaret Ewing

Phone: 402 471 7317

Fax: 402 417 7311

E-mail: margaret.ewing@nebraska.gov

Cash medical support or the cost of private health
insurance is considered reasonable in cost if the cost to the
party responsible for providing medical support does not
exceed three percent of his/her gross income. In applying
the three percent standard the cost is the cost of adding the
child(ren) to existing health care coverage or the difference
between self-only and family health care coverage.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
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Page 12 of 24




State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information State Statute on Medical Support Reasonable Cost Definition
Nevada Website: Cash medical support or the cost of private health
Kim Smalley http://www.leg.state.nv.us/INRS/NRS- insurance is considered reasonable in cost if the cost to the
031A.htmI#NRS031ASec350 parent responsible for providing health insurance does not

Phone: 775-684-0701

Fax: 775-684-0702 . faxceed five percent (50./0) of thg parent's gross monthly
E-mail: ksmalley@dwss.nv.gov Website: income (GMI). In applying the five percent standard, the
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/INRS/NRS- cost is the cost of adding the child(ren) to existing health
Rose Ramos 125B.htmI#NRS125BSec085 coverage or the difference between self-only and family
coverage.

Phone: 775-684-0695
Fax: 775-684-0702
rramos@dwss.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Karen Hebert, Chief Administrator
Phone: 603-223-4823

Fax: 603-271-4872

E-mail: karen.e.hebert@dhhs.state.nh.us

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 13 of 24
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State Medical Support

State/Employer Contact and Program Information

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

New Jersey

Patricia A. Risch

Phone: 609 631 2780

Fax: 609 588 2064

Email: Patricia.Risch@dhs.state.nj.us

2A:17-56.11a. Responsibilities of employer relative to
medical support of employee's child

2A:17-56.11b. Income withholding provisions extended to
cover medical support coverage

NJAC § 10:110-13.2 Determining the amount of child
support obligations

(c) An order or judgment requiring one or both of the parties
to provide health care coverage for the child shall be sought
when such health care coverage is available at reasonable
cost. Health care coverage shall be deemed to be of
reasonable cost when it is available through a parent's
employer or other group as defined at 45 C.F.R. 303.31.

45 CFR § 303.31 Securing and enforcing medical support
obligations.

(3) Cash medical support or the cost of private health
insurance is considered reasonable in cost if the cost to the
parent responsible for providing medical support does not
exceed five percent of his or her gross income or, at State
option, a reasonable alternative income-based numeric
standard defined in State law, regulations or court rule
having the force of law or State child support guidelines
adopted in accordance with § 302.56(c) of this chapter. In
applying the five percent or alternative State standard for
the cost of private health insurance, the cost is the cost of
adding the child(ren) to the existing coverage or the
difference between self-only and family coverage.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

New Mexico

Theresa M. Griego

Phone: 505-476-7037

Email: theresam.griego@state.nm.us
Fax: 505-476-7045

Rhonda T. Rodriguez

Phone: 505-827-1320

Email: rhondat.rodriguez@state.nm.us
Fax: 505-476-7045

See NMSA 1978 840-4C-1 et seq.

New York

New York State Child Support Customer Service Helpline
Phone: 888-208-4485
Email: nysdcse@otda.ny.gov

North Carolina

Donna Buchanan

Phone: 919-855-4433

Fax: 919-733-2783

E-mail: donna.buchanan@dhhs.nc.gov

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

North Dakota

Paulette Oberst

Phone: 701-328-3582
Fax: 701-328-6575
E-mail: poberst@nd.gov

Ohio

Eric R. Gladden, Policy and Central Registry Supervisor
Bureau of Program Services, Office of Child Support
Ohio Department of Job and Family Services

Phone: 614-752-2613

Fax: 614-466-6613

Eric.Gladden01@jfs.ohio.gov

ORC 3119.30; OAC 5101:12-47-01.1

Reasonable cost is determined by a court or CSEA, not an
employer.

OAC 5101:12-47-01

"Reasonable cost" and "reasonable in cost" mean: For a
child support order issued or modified before July 21, 2008,
employment-related health insurance coverage or other
group health insurance, regardless of service delivery
mechanism; or

For a child support order issued or modified on or after July
21, 2008, the cost of health insurance to a parent does not
exceed five percent of the annual gross income of the
parent. In applying the five percent to the cost, the cost is
the difference between self-only and family coverage.

"Family coverage" means the lowest-cost private health
insurance plan that provides coverage for the child(ren)
subject to the child support order.

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Oklahoma

Dorinda Morris
Phone: 580-227-2516
E-mail: dorinda.morris@okdhs.org

Oregon

Employer Services Central Unit
Phone: 866-907-2857

Fax: 503-986-6011

E-mail: ead.staff@doj.state.or.us

ORS 25.321 to ORS 25.343

Website: ead.staff@doj.state.or.us

OAR 137-050-0750

Pennsylvania

Stephanie Rush, Human Services Program Specialist
Supervisor

Dept. of Human Services

Phone: 717-782-0139

E-mail: strush@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure 1910.16-6(b)(3)(i))

http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/231/chapter1910/s1910
.16-6.html
23 Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes §4324)

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/WUO1/LI/LI/CT/HTM/23/00.043.
024.000..HTM
23 Pennsylvania Consolidated Statues §4326

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/WUO1/LI/LI/CT/HTM/23/00.043.
026.000..HTM

23 Pennsylvania Consolidated Statues §4324(l)
"Reasonable cost." Cost of health care coverage that does
not exceed 5% of the party's net monthly income and, if the
obligor is to provide health care coverage, the cost of the
premium when coupled with a cash child support obligation
and other child support-related obligations does not exceed
the amounts allowed by the Federal threshold set forth in
the Consumer Credit Protection Act (Public Law 90-321, 15
U.S.C. §1601 et seq.).

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information State Statute on Medical Support Reasonable Cost Definition

Puerto Rico

Lisette Serrano
Email: Iserrano@asume.pr.gov

Lisette Serrano

Ph (787) 767-1500 ext 2839
Fax (787) 767-1852

Email Iserrano@asume.pr.gov

Rhode Island Reasonable Cost is equal to five percent (5%) or less of the
gross of the parent. However, when the obligor has multiple
orders, then "Reasonable Cost" is defined as being equal to
no more than 5% (of the gross income of the parent) for the
first order; 2.5% for the second order; (and) 0% for all
subsequent orders.

Frank DiBiase

Phone: 401-458-4412

Fax: 401-222-3835

E-mail: fdibiase@dhs.ri.gov

South Carolina South Carolina Code 1976 6317 730; our Guidelines SC Code of Regulations, Chapter 114, Article 47, Section
regulations also address medical support, in the SC Code of | 114-7410 as, The Court should require coverage by one or
Regulations, Chapter 114, Article 47, Section 114-7410 both parents who can obtain the most comprehensive
coverage through an employer or otherwise, at the most
reasonable cost.' Through sanctioned practice, we have
determined this to be 5% of obligors gross income.

Stephen W. Yarborough, Assistant Director
Office of Policy and Training

Child Support Services Division, SCDSS
3150 Harden St Ext

PO Box 1469

Columbia, South Carolina 29202-1469
(803) 898-9402; fax (803) 898-9227
Stephen.Yarborough@dss.sc.gov
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

South Dakota

Josh Mason

Phone: 605-773-6569

Fax: 605-773-7295

E-mail: josh.mason@state.sd.us

SDCL 25-7-6.16; 25-7A-58, 59, 61 and 62

Medical insurance is considered reasonable in cost if the
cost attributable to the child is equal to or less than eight
percent of the parent's net income as determined under this
chapter, after proportionate medical support credit is
applied, and the amount shall be specified in the order for
support.

Tennessee

Elsie Rhodes, Coordinator
Phone: 615-313-5761

Fax: 615-532-2791

E-mail: elsie.rhodes@state.tn.us

Texas

Ted White
Phone: 512-460-6515
E-mail: ted.white @texasattorneygeneral.gov

Texas Family Code154.181-.193

Website:

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/SOTWDocs/FA/htm/FA.

154.htm#D

Texas Family Codel154.181(e) In this section, “reasonable
cost" means the cost of health insurance coverage for a
child that does not exceed nine percent of the responsible
parent's annual resources, as described by Section
154.062(b)

Website:
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/SOTWDocs/FA/htm/FA.
154.htm#154.181
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Utah

Scott Weight
Phone: 801-741-7435
Email: sweigh2@utah.gov

Denise Fairbourn

Phone: (801) 741-7527

Fax: (801) 536-8509

Email: dfairbourn@utah.gov

Website (state statute):

http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE62A/htm/62A11_032600.htm.

62A-11-326. Medical and dental expenses of dependent
children.

In any action under this part, the office and the
department in their orders shall:
(1) include a provision assigning responsibility for cash
medical support;

(2) include a provision requiring the purchase and
maintenance of appropriate medical, hospital, and dental
care insurance for those children, if:

(a) insurance coverage is or becomes available at a
reasonable cost; and

(b) the insurance coverage is accessible to the children;
and

(3) include a designation of which health, dental or hospital
insurance plan, is primary and which is secondary in
accordance with the provisions of Section 30-3-5.4 which
will take effect if at any time the dependent children are
covered by both parents' health, hospital, or dental
insurance plans.

Pursuant to R527-201-7. Reasonable Cost of Insurance
Premiums, "Employment-related or other group coverage
that does not exceed 5% of the obligated parent's monthly
gross income is generally considered reasonable in cost. . ."
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information
State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable
cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information State Statute on Medical Support Reasonable Cost Definition

Vermont The court shall order either or both parents owing a duty of

Jennifer Lyford support to provide a cash contribution or medical coverage
Phone: 802-241-6522 for a child, provided that medical coverage is available to
Fax: 802-241-6534 the parent at a reasonable cost. Medical coverage is

Email: jennifer.lyford@vermont.gov presumed to be available to a parent at a reasonable cost
only if the amount payable for the individual's contribution to
the insurance or health benefit plan premium is five percent
or less of the parent's gross income. The court, in its
discretion, retains the right to order a parent to obtain
medical coverage even if the cost exceeds five percent of
the parent's gross income if the cost is deemed reasonable
under all the circumstances after considering the factors
pursuant to section 659 of this title.

If private health insurance or an employer-sponsored health
benefit plan is not available at a reasonable cost, the court
may order one or both parents owing a duty of support to
contribute a cash contribution of up to five percent of gross
income toward the cost of health care coverage of a child
under public or private health insurance or a health benefit
plan. A cash contribution under this section shall be
considered child support for tax purposes. When calculating
the contribution of a parent whose child receives coverage
under Medicaid, a Medicaid waiver program, or Dr.
Dynasaur, the court shall not order a contribution greater
than the premium amount charged by the agency of human
services for the child's coverage.
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Virginia

Leslie White

Phone: (804) 726-7998

Fax: (804) 726-7481
Email:Leslie.R.White@dss.virginia.gov

Virgin Islands

Dean Barnes

Phone: 340-775-3070, ext. 3009
Phone: 340-775-3808

E-mail: ginad_13@hotmail.com
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Washington

Gaye L. McQueen

Phone: 360-664-5223

Fax: 360-586-3274

E-mail: gaye.mcqueen@dshs.wa.gov

Revised Code of WA (RCW) http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw
Support Order Requirement:

RCW 26.09.105 and

RCW 26.23.050(5)(h)(i)(j)(k)

Medical Enforcement:

RCW 26.18.170

Reasonable cost is calculated as 25% of the obligated
parent's Basic Child Support Obligation (BCSO).

The BCSO is calculated from Line 7 of the Washington
State Child Support Schedule Worksheet with revision date
prior to 10/2009.

The BCSO is shown on Line 19 of the Washington State
Child Support Schedule Worksheet with revision date
10/2009 and later. If no figure is shown on Line 19, the
BCSO is calculated from Line 9.

The court shall have discretion to order health insurance
coverage that exceeds 25% of the BCSO when it is in the
best interest of the child. This is considered "no limit to
cost", except that current child support, plus the children's
insurance premium, plus arrears cannot exceed 50% of the
parent's disposable earnings.

West Virginia

Karen Yahr

Phone: 304-356-4750

Fax: 304-558-4092

E-mail: karen.m.yahr@wv.gov

WV Code §48-12-101 et seq.

The child's portion of the medical insurance premiums not
exceeding 5% of the gross income of the parent who
provides the coverage.
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State/Employer Contact and Program Information

State Medical Support

This document provides state-specific information about medical support contact information, state statute on medical support, and the state's definition of reasonable

cost for medical support.

To locate a state, from the menu bar, select Edit tab, select Find (or Ctrl+F for Window users or Option+F for Mac OS users), then enter the state name in the search field.

Contact Information

State Statute on Medical Support

Reasonable Cost Definition

Wisconsin

Phyllis Fuller

Department of Children and Families
Wisconsin Bureau of Child Support
Phone: 608- 422-6235

Fax: 608-267-2824

E-mail: phyllis.fuller@wi.gov

E-mail: BCSINFO@wisconsin.gov

767.127 (1m) Wis. Stat. Disclosure of health insurance
availability to the parties

767.513 Wis. Stat. Child health care expenses

767.75 Wis. Stat. Income Withholding for payment
obligations

Wisconsin Administrative Rule Chapter DCF 150.05
Medical Support

Administrative Rule DCF Chapter 150.05 (1)(b) 2

The court may consider a private health insurance plan to
be available at a reasonable cost if the cost to enroll the
child or children does not exceed 5% of the insuring parent's
monthly income available for child support and would cover
hospitalization and other medical costs without large out-of-
pocket deductibles or co-payments. In applying this 5%
standard, the cost to enroll the child or children in a private
health insurance plan is the cost to add the child or children
to existing coverage or the difference between the cost of
self-only coverage and the cost to that parent after adding
the child or children.

A parent whose income is below 150% of the federal
poverty level is not required to provide medical support
unless it can be provided at no cost.

Wyoming

Denise Dunn

Phone: 307 777 5653

Fax: 307 77 5588

Email: denise.dunn@wyo.gov

The cost to provide health care coverage or to provide cash
medical support for children at no more than five percent
(5%) of the providing party's income, as defined in W.S. 20-
2-303(a)(ii).

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
11/18/2018

Page 24 of 24




